Town of Weaverville

North Carolina

A Good Place For Your Home

Home Contact Us Site Map

Fire Dept.
Police Dept.
Public Works
Water Dept.
Town Council
Newcomer Information
Current Bid Requests
Job Listings
Website Policy



Zoning Board
Planning & Zoning
Tree Board



Tree Board






The Tree Board’s mission statement is to plant trees, maintain trees, and promote a love of trees in the tradition of J. Sterling Morton.


The Tree Board consists of six members who are appointed by the mayor to serve three-year terms without compensation.  The Tree Board is responsible for studying, investigating, counseling, and developing a written plan for the care, preservation, pruning, planting, replanting, removal, or disposition of trees and shrubs in parks, along streets, and in other public areas.  The plan is presented annually to the Town council and upon its acceptance constitutes the official comprehensive town tree plan.  When requested, the Tree Board may investigate, make findings, report upon, and recommend any special matter coming within the scope of its work.  The Tree Board also serves as an advisory board to the Town Council facilitating the planting, growth, and protection of trees within the town, fostering communication among town citizens, conducting a street tree survey, investigating available grants, developing an official street tree species list, and establishing guidelines for the spacing of town trees.


Each year since its creation in 1990 the Tree Board has undertaken special projects to earn the Tree City USA Award and a Tree City USA Growth Award for the Town.  The Tree Board plans the town’s annual Arbor Day Ceremony, provides educational workshops, creates educational information that is distributed to the public, obtains grant money, gives awards, and plans and implements tree planting projects with schools, scouts, and others. 


Members:  Mary “Bett” Stroud, Chair, Wilma Penland, Claire Rector, Jim Rogers, Steve Supreme and Dale White.


Meetings:  The Tree Board meets on the fourth Monday of each month at 7:30 p.m. in the Town Hall at 30 South Main Street, Weaverville, NC.






















Tree Board Members

Mary "Bett" Stroud, Chair

Wilma Penland

Claire Rector

Jim Rogers

Steve Supreme

Dale White



Home ] Administration ] Fire Dept. ] Police Dept. ] Public Works ] Water Dept. ] Town Council ] Boards ] Newcomer Information ] CodeRED ] Current Bid Requests ] Job Listings ] Website Policy ]

Company Address
Email Address
Copyright © 2002 Your Company