Meet Mayor Stroud
Up Council Members Meet Mayor Stroud Our Vision Minutes Facilities Assessment


Mary "Bett" Stroud

Mayor 1993 to Present
Council Member 1989 to 1993

My Vision for Weaverville

"My vision for Weaverville calls for preserving Weaverville's small town character and quality of life.  I believe that if future generations are to enjoy the quality of life that is enjoyed today, Weaverville's elected officials must make thoughtful, careful decisions about how the town will grow.  Even though the town must grow, its population increase, and its borders expand, the town's liveability can be sustained if the planning process includes the amenities such as landscaping, trees, sidewalks, green spaces and pedestrian friendly neighborhoods and commercial districts."

"The town does not have to be swallowed by "bigness."  The simple pleasures of life in a small town--friendliness, a late evening stroll in a safe neighborhood, a good meal in a local restaurant, or the fellowship of working with others on a civic project are things worth keeping.  Through diligence the town can retain its small town charm and liveability, thus, ensuring that future generations will find those simple good things of life."

Mayor Stroud represents the Town in many ways.  She is the Town's representative on the Land-of-Sky Regional Council, the Transportation Advisory Committee for the Asheville Urban Area (of which Weaverville is a part), and is Chairperson of the Weaverville Tree Board.

Her service to the Town includes dedicated work on the following boards and committees:

bulletQuality Forward Board of Directors and Executive Committee
bulletWalkable Communities Conference Planning Committee
bulletVisions Asheville/Buncombe County Task Force
bulletFriends of the Weaverville Library Board
bulletNorth Buncombe Partners in Education Task Force
bulletChairperson of the Landscape Ordinance Committee
bulletMember of Weaverville Garden Club

Mayor Stroud is the 1997 recipient of American Hometown Leadership Award - given by The National Center for Small communities for outstanding leadership of communities with populations of 25,000 or less, and the Outstanding Board Service Award to the Region B Council of Governments.